HKU team won in the Samsung Solve for Tomorrow 2018 Competition

From left: Dr. V.W.L. Tam, Prof. K.T. Chau (Head of Dept.), Mr. Desmond Chi Ping Wong, Mr. Felix Kwong Yat Wong and Prof. E.Y. M. Lam Our BEng(CE) year 3 students Desmond Chi Ping Wong & Felix Kwong Yat Wong, together with another teammate from BBA(Law), developed an Android mobile

Read More

2018 Elected NAI Fellows

Prof. Ron S Y Hui has recently been named by the US National Academy of Inventors (NAI) as one of the NAI Fellows.

Newly Elevated IEEE Fellow

Dr. Lijun Jiang is newly conferred the IEEE Fellow for contributions to broadband computational electromagnetic methods. The IEEE Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) fields of interest.

Read More

2018 Highly Cited Researchers

Congratulations to Professor Wallace C H Choy for being named by Clarivate Analytics in the list of “Highly Cited Researchers 2018” among the world’s top researchers. Fifteen HKU academics named amongst the world’s most highly cited researchers. Highly Cited Researchers are selected for their exceptional research performance, determined by production

Read More

ACES Fellow

Dr. Lijun JIANG has just been elevated as the ACES Fellow in the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES). The grade of Fellow is bestowed by the Board of Directors (BoD) upon a person with exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions in computational electromagnetics, including ACES publications, and extensive service to ACES.

Read More

Class of 1998: 20th Anniversary Home-coming visit

The class of 1998 just had their home-coming celebration for their 20th graduation anniversary on 27 October 2018. Our alumni, together with their family, came back to their alma mater for a happy re-union. The group visited our PC Lab and Chi Wah Learning Commons, saw the demos from our

Read More

Champion of Student Paper Competition

Dr. L Jiang’s RPG student, Rong WANG, won the Champion of the Student Paper Competition (AP Session) at 2018 IEEE AP/MTT Postgraduate Conference held at Chinese University of Hong Kong Saturday, 3 November, 2018. The awarded paper is called “Band-rejected Wideband Antenna Based on Peelable Resonator Membrane”. It is co-authored

Read More