Hong Kong ICT Awards 2012

Dr. Wilton Fok and his students Mr. Eric Au Yeung (E-ComE Graduate 2011) and Mr. Ken Law (E-ComE Graduate 2010), Mr. Alan Chiang (CS Graduate 2010) awarded two Silver Awards in the Hong Kong ICT Awards 2012.

One project titled ” Interactive Class on Cloud – iClass (雲端移動學習平台-互動教室)” won the Best Lifestyle Award Sliver Award in the stream of “Living and Learning” (最佳生活時尚( 學習‧ 生活) 獎). The project was evolved from Ken’s Final Year which was supported by a Teaching Development Grant for further development. The project was supervised by Dr. Wilton Fok and co-supervised by Dr. KS. Lui and Dr. Vincent Tam. The solution allows teachers and students to interact and share their ideas in lecture through smartphone and tablet PC. Details of the project can be referred to: www.eee.hku.hk/~iclass

Another project titled “Mobile Real-time Interactive Publishing Platform (流動實時互動出版平台)” won the Best Ubiquitous Networking Award Sliver Award in the stream of “Mobile Publishing”(流動實時互動出版平台). This award was jointly granted to the collaborating organization, MediaNet Hong Kong Ltd. With the rich educational contents contributed by the MediaNet and the latest mobile technologies contributed by the e-Learning Technology Development Laboratory of our Department, a solution of interactive e-book publishing platform is developed for primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong.

The team with the two Silver trophies: Best Lifestyle Award and the Best Ubiquitous Networking Sliver Award

From left: Mr. Ken Law, Dr. Wilton Fok, Dr. George Yuen (HKU Court Member), Hon. John Tsang (Guest of Honor, Financial Secretary, HKSAR) and Hon. Dr. C.H. Leong (the HKU Council Chairman), Mr. Alan Chiang and Mr. Eric Au Yeung

The team with the partners from the MediaNet Ms. Iris Chen (2nd left) and Mr. YF Chow (3rd right)

About the Hong Kong ICT Award
The Hong Kong ICT Awards were established in 2006 under a collaborative effort amongst the industry, the academia and the Government. The Awards aim at building a large scale and internationally recognised branding of ICT awards of Hong Kong. The Awards Steering Committee is chaired by the Government Chief Information Officer HKSAR