3 EEE teachers got outstanding achievement on research

HKU just announced the annual/biannual distinguished awards on research. 3 professors in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering got the outstanding researcher awards in 2018-2019. Professor Ron SY Hui was awarded the Distinguished Research Achievement Award (DRAA). It is the highest research honour in HKU. Candidates are expected to have achieved

Read More

Top 1% Scholars

Congratulations to our 10 EEE teaching staff, who have been recognized as the world’s Top 1% scholars. They are: Professor S.C. Chan Professor K.T. Chau Professor W.C.H. Choy Professor D.J. Hill Dr. K.B. Huang Professor R.S.Y. Hui Dr. C.K. Lee Professor V.O.K. Li Professor S.C. Tan Dr. Y.C. Wu (*

Read More

2019 IEEE ComSoc Asia-Pacific Outstanding Paper Award

Dr. Kaibin Huang and his former PhD student, Dr. Changsheng You, received the IEEE Communication Society’s 2019 Asia-Pacific Outstanding Paper Award for their following joint paper with their industrial collaborators:   C. You, K. Huang, H. Chae and B. Kim, “Energy-Efficient Resource Allocation for Mobile-Edge Computation Offloading”, IEEE Transaction on Wireless Communications,

Read More

Highly Cited Researcher for 2019

Dr. K.B. Huang has been recognized by Clarivate Analytics in its list of “Highly Cited Researchers 2019” among the world’s top researchers. His papers have been highly cited by his fellow of elites and ranked in the top 1% by citations in his field – wireless communication and wireless networking

Read More

EE graduate won the Silver Award in HKEIA Innovation & Technology Project Competition Award 2019

Congratulations to Sharif Mohammed Nawaj, our BEng(EE) graduate, for another achievement! His outstanding final year project (ELEC4848 Senior Design Project), titled “Design and Implementation of a practical, compact and low-cost wireless power transfer system 高實用性、小巧及低成本的無線功率傳輸系統” supervised by Prof. S C Tan, has brought him to another award. This project has

Read More

Fellow of AdvanceHE

Dr. Joe C H Yuen and Dr. Vincent W L Tam have been awarded the fellowship (FHEA) of the AdvanceHE.

Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC)

Prof. David J. Hill has been elected as a Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC) for his contributions to stability theory and distributed control theory with applications to power systems. The IFAC Fellow Award is given to persons who have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions in the

Read More