The Chair of the IEEE Awards Board

Professor Paul Cheung has been re-appointed as the Chair of the IEEE Awards Board in 2008.  The IEEE Awards Board administers the awards and recognition program of the IEEE, the world’s largest professional society in the field of electrical, electronic and computer engineering. Through its awards program, the IEEE advances the interests of its members by recognizing their contributions in advancing the fields of interest to IEEE to the benefit of society. By this means, the image and prestige of the organization, its members, and the profession are all enhanced. The IEEE awards program honors members and other professionals for their service to the society.  The Awards Board is responsible for all the Institution-level medals, the highest recognitions in the IEEE professions, the 31 Technical Field Awards (TFA), and the IEEE policies on all awards in the Institute.  Professor Cheung started his current position as Chair of the Awards Board since January this year and is the first one from Hong Kong to serve in this position.

Professor Paul Cheung